Synods of the PC(USA) | Presbyterian Historical Society

You are here

Synods of the PC(USA)

April 30, 2014
1959 Synod Map

The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A) organizes its many congregations into presbyteries and then into synods. Presbyteries are the district governing bodies which are made up of various congregations. Each presbytery also belongs to a regional governing body, known as a synod. Synods act as a form of administration between presbyteries and the General Assembly. There are currently 16 Synods in the PC(USA).

Click on the links below to learn more about each synod, and make sure you take a look at the photo gallery to the right to get a sense how they have changed over time.

  1. Synod of Alaska-Northwest
  2. Synod of Boriquen (Puerto Rico)
  3. Synod of the Covenant
  4. Synod of Lakes and Prairies
  5. Synod of Lincoln Trails
  6. Synod of Living Waters
  7. Synod of Mid-America
  8. Synod of the Mid-Atlantic
  9. Synod of the Northeast
  10. Synod of the Pacific
  11. Synod of the Rocky Mountains
  12. Synod of the South Atlantic
  13. Synod of Southern California and Hawaii
  14. Synod of the Southwest
  15. Synod of the Sun
  16. Synod of the Trinity

Image Gallery